Lifetime Achievement Awards

Call for Nominations

Nominations for the AUCCCD Lifetime Achievement Award are requested to recognize and honor AUCCCD members who have provided outstanding service to AUCCCD and exemplary leadership in the field of College and University Counseling Centers. Eligibility and selection criteria are listed below.


Eligibility Criteria

  1. Currently a member or emeritus member of AUCCCD.
  2. Length of service as director/member (10 or more years)
Selection Guidelines
  1. Identified more with Counseling Center rather than other university roles
  2. Influence on the field of Counseling Center work via publications, presentations, etc.
  3. Service to AUCCCD:
    1. Leadership on Governing Board
    2. Leadership role for AUCCCD conferences
    3. Mentoring/role model for colleagues
    4. Participation on programs
    5. Leadership of committee or establishing a new direction for AUCCCD
  4. Other related activities benefiting AUCCCD (e.g., leadership pertaining to Counseling Centers through the American Psychological Association, American Counseling Association, American College Personnel Association, American College Health Association, International Association of Counseling Services, accreditation site visitor, and/or service on editorial boards of relevant journals).
  5. Distinction as a Counseling Center director
  6. Participation in organizations at the national level
  7. Manifests a high level of professional integrity and ethical sensibility

To nominate a candidate for the award, you will upload a letter of nomination, a resume/vita of the nominee, and at least two supporting letters from individuals who have knowledge of the nominee with respect to the selection guidelines via our online form. Complete nominations should be received by August 14th. Individuals making the nominations are responsible for assembling the nomination items and uploading them by the deadline date.

Past Recipients


  • Wanda Collins, Emory University
  • Pete LeViness, University of Richmond
  • Steve Sprinkle, University of San Diego


  • Sharon Mitchell, University at Buffalo - SUNY
  • Kristen Gray, Hope College


  • Mary Chandler Bolin, University of Kentucky
  • Stewart Cooper, Valparaiso University


  • Monica Z. Osburn, North Carolina State University
  • Reina Juarez, University of California - San Diego


  • Harry Rockland Miller, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
  • Terry Mason, Iowa State University


  • Bob Rando,Wright State University


  • Anika Fields, Florida A&M University
  • Jeff Prince, UC Berkeley
  • Todd Sevig, University of Michigan


  • Theresa DiNuzzo, University of North Florida
  • Mark Thompson, Colgate University


  • Christopher Flynn, Virginia Tech


  • Ian Birky, Lehigh University
  • Greg Eells, Cornell University
  • Emil Rodolfa, UC Davis


  • Allan J. Schwartz, University of Rochester
  • Dan Jones, Appalachian State University


  • Kathy Hollingsworth, Duke University
  • Jeff Pollard, George Mason University
  • Greg Snodgrass, Texas State University


  • Martha Christiansen, Arizona State University
  • Don Rosen, Texas Women's University
  • Don Paulson, Idaho State University


  • Maggie (Olona) Gartner, Texas A&M University
  • Jim Spivak, Townson University


  • Jaquie Resnick, University of Florida
  • Steve Brown, East Tennessee State University


  • Charles Davidshofer, Colorado State University
  • Kathy Hotelling, University of North Carolina
  • Thomas A. Seals, Jr., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


  • Ken Garni, Suffolk University
  • Doug Lamb, Illinois State University


  • John Bishop, University of Delaware
  • Judy Mack, University of California - Davis
  • Gerald Stone - University of Iowa


  • Vivian Boyd, University of Maryland at College Park
  • Dennis Heitzmann, Penn State University
  • Louise Douce, The Ohio State University


  • Bob Gallagher, University of Pittsburgh
  • Jim Clack, Duke University
  • Wade Birch, Texas A&M University


  • Dave Drum, University of Texas at Austin
  • Tom Magoon, University of Maryland
  • Wes Morrill, University of Utah