Harriett Copher Haynes Diversity Leadership Mentoring Award

Dr. Harriett Copher Haynes has spent her professional lifetime admiringly serving both the profession of psychology and the greater community.  She received her B.S. in Nursing in 1963 from the University of Missouri, and from the University of Minnesota, an M.S. in Public Health in 1966 and a Ph.D. in Counseling Psychology in 1979.  She was employed at the University of Minnesota Counseling & Consulting Services for 40 years (1971-2011) and served as Director for 15 of those years (1992-2007).  In addition to providing strong center leadership, Dr. Haynes served as a leader, mentor role model and consultant for the university community, addressing issues of diversity, sexism, racism, responding to students in crisis, sexual violence/ending rape culture, mediation, crisis response, women's issues, multicultural curriculum development, and managing organizational change.

In addition to her University responsibilities Dr. Haynes served as President of the Minnesota Psychological Association.  She also held the positions of Treasurer, Ombudsperson, and Chair of the Women’s Division within the Association.  She has also been active in advocacy efforts with state legislators, serving as the voice of psychology and diversity on the Governor’s Mental Health Council.  Additional volunteer commitments included involvement with Save Our Hungry Children, The Board of Dakota Communities for the Developmentally Disabled, and a volunteer presenter for the Association for Citizens with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities.  In recognition of her outstanding professional and societal contributions, the Minnesota Psychological Association has awarded Dr. Haynes both the Diversity in Leadership Award and the Community Involvement Award.  In presenting the latter award, Dr. Haynes was described as “the voice, sometimes quiet ,often with good humor, always with great command, of reason, fairness, conscience, compromise, and equality.”

Call for Nominations for the 2024 Award

In one effort to encourage and enhance diversity and inclusive excellence within our counseling center directorship, AUCCCD offers the Diversity Leadership Mentoring Program.  This program offers scholarships for attendance at our annual conference to talented mental health professionals of diverse identities who aspire to become counseling center directors. In 2014 this program was renamed the Harriett Copher Haynes Diversity Leadership Mentoring Program to recognize and honor Harriett for her leadership in establishing this important initiative in 2003.  AUCCCD recognizes that establishing a mentoring relationship with an experienced director and networking at the annual conference can provide a rich professional development experience for future directors.

Submit a Nomination


  1. No prior experience as a counseling center director.
  2. Interest in being a counseling center director and providing leadership in a higher educational setting.
  3. Completion of at least five years experience in a clinical position (some must have been in a staff position at a counseling center).
  4. Leadership on an initiative or project related to inclusive excellence.
  5. Personal identity represents diversity, including but not limited to such areas as race/ethnicity, ability status, sexual orientation, or gender identity.
  6. Experience advancing a cultural/diversity/inclusion agenda.
  7. Experience as a supervisor (preferred).

Nature of the Scholarship:

We look to award three scholarships of up to $2,500.00 each to cover the costs for the recipients to attend our 2023 Conference in Phoenix, AZ. Scholarship recipients will co-present a diversity-themed program at the conference. Each recipient will also be matched with a current director who serves as a mentor.

Nomination Process:

Individuals can be nominated by submitting their vitae, two letters of support (one letter must be from the applicant's home institution director), and a statement of interest that includes:

  • How diversity and inclusion have influenced their career.
  • Their experience taking leadership on an initiative or project.
  • How issues of diversity have been implemented in their work and their experience advancing a cultural/diversity/inclusion agenda.
  • How receiving the Harriett Copher Haynes Award would impact their professional development.

Self nominations are accepted.

We will open nominations for the 2024 Conference in early April. 

[email protected]

Past Recipients


  • Kisha Bazelais, University of Miami
  • Mariesa Cruz-Tillery, Pace University Westchester Campuses
  • Johanna Malaga, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Amy Walker, Georgetown University in Qatar


  • Denisha Champion, Wake Forest University
  • Jennifer Moulton, University of Wisconsin Madison
  • Meghana Suchak, University of Louisville
  • Qianhui Zhang, Northwestern University


  • Tenille Gains, Michigan State University
  • Sheila Graham, Loyola University Maryland
  • Simone Collins, University of Wisconsin - Madison


  • Sarah Godoy, The Catholic University of America
  • Veronica Orozco, University of California, Berkeley
  • Lynette Sparkman-Barnes, University of Kansas Medical Center


  • Deirdre Weathersby, University of Illinois
  • Michael Anthony Juan, San Diego State University
  • Elizabeth Rodriguez, SUNY Buffalo


  • Meladee Garst, Wichita State University
  • Monique Marsh-Bell, Baylor University
  • Shantha Stokes, Sam Houston State University


  • Jonathan Pastor, Princeton University
  • Shonali Raney, The Ohio State University
  • Erica Lennon, UNC - Charlotte


  • Amber Cargill, Psy.D., The George Washington University
  • Jason Vasquez, Ph.D., Illinois State University
  • Eric Wood, Ph.D., LPC, Texas Christian University


  • Julie M. AhnAllen, Ph.D., Boston College
  • Lonette S. Belizaire, Ph.D., Pratt
  • Gene R. Edwards, Ph.D., UNC, Charlotte
  • Carolyn A. O'Keefe, Psy.D., University of California, Irvine


  • Dianne Aguero-Trotter, Ph.D., Seton Hall University
  • Adriana DiPasquale, Psy.D., Holy Cross University
  • Xuhua Qin, Ph.D., Tufts University


  • Christine Asidao, University of Michigan 
  • Amanda Ngola, University of Wisconsin- Madison 
  • John A. Ward, Miami University
  • Vivian Yamada, University of Central Florida


  • Natasha Maynard, Pemba, University of Florida
  • Rene Monteagudo, University of Illinois
  • Karen Nakayama, Fort Lewis College


  • Melissa Bartsch, University of Tennessee
  • Sheri Clark, Appalachian State University
  • Anshan Moore, Cornell University


  • Tow Yee Yau, Cornell University
  • Lynelle Ragland, College of William and Mary
  • Angela Lee, North Carolina Central University


  • Arnold (Arnie) Abels, University of Missouri at Kansas City
  • Ellen Lin, San Jose State University
  • Liz Snider, University of Buffalo


  • Kendra Smith, University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill
  • Shari Robinson, University of Florida
  • Paul Castelino, Ohio University


  • Jo-Ann Cohn, Penn State University
  • Sharon Kirkland-Gordon, University of Maryland


  • Bruce Menapace, Cleveland State University


  • Micky Sharma, Wright State University 
  • Selia Servín-Guerrero López, St. Edward's University


  • Cyndy Boyd, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Gweneth Lloyd, State University of New York at New Paltz 
  • Carla McCowan Alston, University of Illinois Urbana Campaign 
  • Barry Schreier, Purdue University